Skip to main content

Posts

Showing posts from February, 2017

REVIEW: Take Two by Perdita and Honor Cargill

Title: Take Two Author: Perdita and Honor Cargill
Series:  Waiting For Callback, #2
Pages:  344
Publisher: Simon and Schuster
Date of Publication: 26th January, 2017
Source: Sent by author*
Synopsis from Goodreads:Elektra has finally landed a part in a film. It's the dream. Well ...until she works out that Straker is a movie so dystopian that within weeks most of the cast and all of the crew wish that the world had actually ended (preferably in scene one). And while it's obviously great news that she's moved from the friend-zone with Archie to become his almost-girlfriend, it would be better if he hadn't immediately relocated to Transylvania to play a vampire hunter surrounded by 'maidens of peerless beauty'.

Full of humour and warmth, this new series is perfect for fans of Geek Girl and The It Girl.


My Thoughts:
I loved Casting Queen when I first read it last year, so I couldn't wait to get started with Take Two. I got stuck in and quickly got lost once again in…

Book Review: A Quiet Kind of Thunder by Sara Barnard

Title: A Quiet Kind of Thunder Author: Sara Barnard
Series:  n/a
Pages:  307
Publisher: Macmillan Children's Books
Date of Publication: 12th January, 2017
Source: Bought
Synopsis from Goodreads:Steffi doesn't talk, but she has so much to say.
Rhys can't hear, but he can listen.
Their love isn't a lightning strike, it's the rumbling roll of thunder.

Steffi has been a selective mute for most of her life - she's been silent for so long that she feels completely invisible. But Rhys, the new boy at school, sees her. He's deaf, and her knowledge of basic sign language means that she's assigned to look after him. To Rhys, it doesn't matter that Steffi doesn't talk, and as they find ways to communicate, Steffi finds that she does have a voice, and that she's falling in love with the one person who makes her feel brave enough to use it.

From the bestselling author of Beautiful Broken Things comes a love story about the times when a whisper is as good as a …

Book Review: The One Memory of Flora Banks by Emily Barr

Title: The One Memory of Flora Banks Author: Emily Barr
Series:  n/a
Pages:  302
Publisher: Penguin
Date of Publication: 12th January, 2017
Source: Bought
Synopsis from Goodreads:Seventeen-year-old Flora Banks has no short-term memory. Her mind resets itself several times a day, and has since the age of ten, when the tumor that was removed from Flora's brain took with it her ability to make new memories. That is, until she kisses Drake, her best friend's boyfriend, the night before he leaves town. Miraculously, this one memory breaks through Flora's fractured mind, and sticks. Flora is convinced that Drake is responsible for restoring her memory and making her whole again. So when an encouraging email from Drake suggests she meet him on the other side of the world, Flora knows with certainty that this is the first step toward reclaiming her life.

With little more than the words "be brave" inked into her skin, and written reminders of who she is and why her memory is so…