Skip to main content

REVIEW: It's A Wrap by Perdita and Honor Cargill

Good morning! I have finally finished my degree (woohoo!) and so I (should) have all the time in the world for reading and blogging now! Here's a review of the final book in a series that I always love to read when I'm revising... 



Read on for why I enjoyed this so much! 

It's a Wrap (Waiting for Callback #3)Title: It's A Wrap 
Author: Perdita and Honor Cargill
Series:  Waiting For Callback, #3
Pages:  351
Publisher: Simon and Schuster
Date of Publication: 31st May, 2018
Source: Author
Synopsis from Goodreads: Elektra James is back and her life is more hilariously chaotic than ever!

Elektra is hoping for BIG things this year... She's finished her first feature film (even if her character was unexpectedly killed off half-way through filming), hosted the party of the year (well, before her mum arrived and threw everyone out - how embarrassing!) and managed to become Archie Mortimer's Actual Real Life girlfriend (for now anyway...), so things are most definitely moving in the right direction. But with social media to navigate (#actinggoals #instanightmare), GCSEs looming and a seemingly never-ending parade of failed casting calls, Elektra's road to acting stardom is proving to be as rocky as ever.

Full of humour and warmth, this is the perfect series for fans of Holly Smale, Katy Birchill, Beth Garrod and Marianne Levy.

This book is book three in the Waiting For Callback series, so if you haven't read the first two books please read on with caution (I won't be overly spoilery though!). Click here to read my review of the first book, Casting Queen, and here to read about Take Two.

My Thoughts:
If you've been reading my blog or Twitter at all over the last two and half years, you will know that I am a big fan of the Waiting For Callback series. Elektra James is one of my favourite teen protagonists, I always love getting stuck into her world that is half school and GCSEs, and half acting and glamour and red carpet... Supposedly. In this book, Elektra has finished filming RAW, her first feature film, but it's been slated by the media to be terrible, so this book follows her publicity for the movie, and trying to get through her GCSEs.

I was a little apprehensive about starting this as I read the first two books so long ago and I was worried I wouldn't be able to remember what had happened. But the book opens with a 'story so far' section with a lowdown on all of the characters, which was very useful, and once I got into Elektra's voice again it all came rushing back. There's something about her voice that I really connect with and so it clearly has stuck with me, which is great! As with the other two books, there are also emails and newspaper/blog clippings throughout that add an extra level of narrative which I always really enjoy.

Elektra is great in this book and there are lots of genuine laugh-out-loud funny moments. With the help of a PR agency she's trying to build a brand for herself on her social media in the run up to the release of RAW, and it's not going well - some of the things she posts and says made me chuckle even though I was cramped on a train and it was really quiet while I was reading :P There's also a hilarious incident involving a chicken fillet and some jelly/fake food that had me giggling like crazy so if you need something to put a smile on your face this is the book for you!

I don't want to say much more in case I let loose some spoilers from the previous books, and a lot of what I've already said in my reviews of the previous books (see links above) is relevant here too. So I shall end on a high - I really adore this series. Each book's release has been timed perfectly to coincide with my stressful exam periods and uni deadlines, and so they have been the perfect comic relief and fun just when I needed them. I cannot recommend a better series of classic UKYA to keep you occupied over the summer, so next time you're in a bookshop, do think about picking them up! 


*Huge thanks to Perdita for sending me this! In no way has this affected my opinion of the novel. 


Have you read any Waiting for Callback books? What did you think?




Comments

Popular posts from this blog

This Mortal Coil by Emily Suvada: Review and Giveaway!

Hello! Today I have a review and giveaway for you guys! I was lucky enough to meet Emily Suvada this week, and so I've got a signed copy of This Mortal Coil to give away today!




Here's my review of this great book to whet your appetite!
Title: This Mortal Coil Author: Emily Suvada
Series:  This Mortal Coil, #1
Pages:  464
Publisher: Penguin Children's Books
Date of Publication: 2nd November 2017
Source: Waterstones
Synopsis from Goodreads:When a lone soldier, Cole, arrives with news of Lachlan Agatta's death, all hope seems lost for Catarina. Her father was the world's leading geneticist, and humanity's best hope of beating a devastating virus. Then, hidden beneath Cole's genehacked enhancements she finds a message of hope: Lachlan created a vaccine.

Only she can find and decrypt it, if she can unravel the clues he left for her. The closer she gets, the more she finds herself at risk from Cartaxus, a shadowy organization with a stranglehold on the world's genetic…

Book Review: The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

Title: The Perks of Being a Wallflower  Author: Stephen Chbosky
Series: Standalone
Pages: 213
Publisher: Simon and Schuster
Date of Publication: 30th August 2012 (reprint)
Source: Publisher*
Synopsis from Goodreads:
The Perks of Being a Wallflower is a story about what it’s like to travel that strange course through the uncharted territory of high school. the world of first dates, family dramas, and new friends. of sex, drugs, and the rocky horror picture show. of those wild and poignant roller-coaster days known as growing up.
My Thoughts:
So many people have been telling me to read Perks for about a year now, and with the movie coming up soon, I thought it was finally time. I mean, it looked quite good, and you have to read the book before the film, right?! Anyway, I decided I would read it on holiday when I had nothing else to do so I could read it all at once, and as it's really not very long this was pretty easy. While it didn't quite live up to my (probably too high) expectations…

Book Review: Moxie by Jennifer Mathieu

Title: Moxie Author: Jennifer Mathieu
Series: n/a
Pages: 340
Publisher: Hodder Children's Books
Date of Publication: 21st September 2017
Source: borrowed from Reading to Recover
Synopsis from Goodreads:
It's time to fight like a girl!

Vivian Carter is fed up. Fed up with her high school teachers who think the football team can do no wrong. Fed up with sexist dress codes, hallway harassment and gross comments from guys during class. But most of all, Viv Carter is fed up with always following the rules.

Viv's mum was a tough-as-nails, punk rock Riot Grrrl in the '90s, and now Viv takes a page from her mother's past and creates Moxie, a feminist zine that she distributes anonymously to her classmates. She's just blowing off steam, but other girls respond and spread the Moxie message. As Viv forges friendships with other young women across the divides of cliques and popularity rankings, she realises that what she has started is nothing short of a girl revolution.


My Thought…